Makeup for 50 cents?!: 2 for $1 display at Dollar General ( Hot or Not)

I was browsing through my local Dollar general when I noticed an interesting isle end cap display. 2 for $1 L.A. Colors makeup, and it was a newly launched line! Now, being the “makeup investigator” that I am, I decided to pick up every single eye shadow, and one of everything else. Now, I am relaying to you if this inexpensive makeup is worth taking the trip to Dollar General and picking up. ( P.S. I tried to find a link for the products, but could not, it is probably a hit or miss if this line is in your local Dollar General).

Pictured above is the line of shadows ( all single) one baby pop! lip gloss, one chunky eye pencil, and one chunky lip pencil. I am going to start with the lip gloss!!

laclg

The only lip gloss that was available at my local display was this one in “nude”. Now, for a 50 cent lip gloss I was pretty impressed with it. It was not sticky, had a nice smell, and felt pretty nice on the lips. Of course, it is sheer, even more so on the lips than in the swatch. It is pretty comfortable to wear, and one of the items from this line I will be holding on to.

laclp

This lip pencil was, again, pretty good for the price. FOR THE PRICE. It was patchy, sheer, and wore off easily. BUT, it wasn’t uncomfortable, which is really what I was expecting it to be. So, that is the one plus for this item. This is an item I will be passing on to my younger sister, who is 8 and does not need a lot of lip color for “play makeup”. By the way this lip color is called “red”. How original.

lacep

The L.A. Colors chunky eye pencil that I was able to find on the display is in the shade champagne frost. As you can tell from the swatch, this pencil has some pretty chunky glitter in it. So chunky in fact, that it hurt my eyelid pretty badly to apply. Not to mention, the product was very patch and the lid of the product was too large to fit. Needless to say, I promptly tossed this item in the trash.

wineshimmer

The first shadow (pictured above), is labeled as wine shimmer. This shadow was pretty smooth and bendable. It is way less pigmented on the eye than in the swatch or in the pan. It also appears more “brown” than it does “wine”, but that is subjective.

teal steal

I really wanted this shade ” Teal Steal” to be as pigmented as it appeared in the pan. It really reminded me of another L.A. Colors eye shadow from my childhood. The shadow to give a nice sheen on the eye, but it creased very fast and faded quickly. It was also very powdery.

purplerain

First, let me start off by saying that I really like the name of this shadow, “purple rain”. As for the shadow itself? Not so much. There was very little pigmentation. It was very chalky and it did not blend.

nudeshimmer.jpg

This shade, “nude shimmer”, can actually come in handy! I found that it looked very nice as a brow and inner corner highlight. But that is about it, it doesn’t blend well enough to last on the crease, nor is it pigmented enough.

bluemermaid

This shade, “blue mermaid”, point blank sucked. It was chalky, not pigmented, and it would just blend away- quickly.

The reason I have these 3 shadows grouped together, is because I loved them. They are very usable. Not chalky, pigmented, and bendable. These shades are; “Black Frost”, “Golden”, and “White Shimmer”. If you can get your hands on these last three shadows I highly recommend it. As for the rest of the line?

facebook

As always, thanks for reading.

xoxo Manda.

 

4 thoughts on “Makeup for 50 cents?!: 2 for $1 display at Dollar General ( Hot or Not)

  1. Did you know you can mix these cheap eyeshadow pigments with Nivea creme out of the tin and have yourself some moisturizing eyeshadow creams? It takes a little effort but is fun to do as a craft and you end up with much better pigmented creams that last twice as long as the powders by themselves.

    Like

Leave a Reply

